Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr-4)

Last one from Tumblr. Pretty loaded, however not with my own stuff… Hope you enjoy nonetheless!


This morning has been a cooking marathon. Lets see… I woke up and had toast with bleu cheese, sliced pear and avocado—DELICIOUS. Such a wonderful combination I found here. Then, I began baking and only stopped for this (and then college essays…)

First up, was red velvet cookieupcakes with cream cheese frosting fromhere—I am also about to order this cookbook because she seems just really cool and is praised on all the food blogs I follow (which is saying something because my bookmarks bar doesn’t even hold them all). She is also a fellow young person with a love for cooking and I am incredibly impressed that she already has a book out and am super excited to get it and start cooking her recipes! So, those were for a friend’s birthday (actually 2—they are twins!) and they turned out quite well 🙂

DSC_0020

DSC_0022 DSC_0027 DSC_0029

Second, I made some lemon poppyseed scones for my sister, because she loves lemon poppyseed muffins and scones, so I put them together! We ran out of white flour, so I had to use whole wheat, which made them a bit more hearty, but a little less lemony and sweet than your conventional scone. They are still quite good though, thanks to epicurious!

DSC_0035 DSC_0036 DSC_0037 DSC_0039

Lastly, I made lunch. This tomato soup, I found in an Eating Well magazine, I believe, and took a photo to save it and finally got around to trying it. Right now it is sitting on the stove wafting amazing tomato-ey, garlic-y, yummmyyyyy smells to me while I write this. The amazing thing about this recipe though, is the presentation. So, you make the soup, which is incredibly easy (literally throw 5 things in a pot and you are done),

but then:

you crack an egg into the same pot as the soup and poach it for several minutes. Then you take the egg out and place it on top of a piece of bread in a wide bowl and spoon the soup over the bread and egg. I am extremely excited 😀

DSC_0043  DSC_0002 DSC_0006 DSC_0009

This afternoon, my mom is taking over the kitchen with an Indian chef who owns a restaurant in Kittery, ME and is coming to teach my mom more about the art of Indian cooking. She is already quite good at Indian cuisine, so after this guy leaves, she is going to be freaking awesome. I, meanwhile will be in my room, tantalized by the clanking of pans and mouth-watering smells wafting up to my room. But, I am telling myself that once I finish my college essay, WHICH I WILL DO THIS AFTERNOON, I get to enjoy an incredible Indian feast. I think that is pretty great motivation, right?

Sorry I have no original recipes this week, but do try the avocado, pear, bleu cheese combo and the cookies and scones as well! The soup is also a great one for a beautifully cool, fall day like today. Its warm and wonderful flavors cuddle you while providing nourishing source of grain, protein and veggies (even some bonus iron with the spinach)!

~peace, frolicking, bliss~

lalihloselwe ukuba

Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr-4)

Leave a Reply

