Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr-2)

Another post from my Tumblr. Enjoy!


Lonely Sunday Nights = Prime-Time Cupcake Time

I don’t know about you, but this is what my Sunday nights look like. (Hopefully) no more homework weighs over me and my creativity is able to thrive with the help of comfy clothing, and a great Pandora station.

This past Sunday I was alone, so naturally, I baked some cupcakes. I recently have found this wonderful blog that I love. She has a recipe for chocolate cupcakes on there from yet another source (found here). So, I made half what that recipe called for, because in my family, we don’t eat normal desserts very often, so this is actually a rarely, mainstream dessert recipe for me. 12 normal and delicious cupcakes were in order, however because my cousin was in need of a little cheering after struggling through the beginning of her senior year with a relentless soar throat and general sickness. A family friend was also in need of a thank you, so 6 for each seemed perfect.

The company of two large bowls, the smell of chocolate, and the inspiration the sight of mint extract provided me when I spotted it in the pantry kept me quite busy and contented that night. There is nothing quite like putting energy, time, and care into something made with your hands, knowing it/they are going to someone you care for. Anyways, these are so yummy and my own frosting delightfully inspired me with its liquid-ey outcome. Read on and enjoy!

CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES

DSC_0112

Yield: 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:

For cupcakes

  • 1 cup sugar (I used coconut sugar)
  • a little under 1 cup flour
  • a little under 1/2 a cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder and soda and salt each
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla

DSC_0102

For glaze/Topping

  • 2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1 cup heavy cream {I actually used almond milk, which did make it quite liquid-ey, however, for this recipe, it works!}
  • 1 stick butter {melted}
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon {or a little more} mint extract
  • 12 Hersey kisses

DSC_0090

Directions:

For cupcakes

  • Mix all dry ingredients {sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt} in a bowl
  • Mix all wet ingredients {egg, milk, oil, vanilla} together in a separate bowl
  • Pour wet mixture into dry and mix with hands until just combined

I just want to take a moment to say that mixing things with your hands, especially things like cupcakes and muffins, where the batter isn’t supposed to be overly-mixed, is the greatest thing. It not only is super fun to get your hands all gooey, but to feel the ingredients transform from individual components to a collective group that creates something delicious is such an important part of cooking that is worth a hands-on understanding. 

Using your hands also makes you that much more connected and invested in whatever it is you are creating. The final product tastes better when hand-mixed, in my opinion. Try it!

  • Pour batter into 12 cupcake holders, filling each about halfway
  • Cook in oven at 350 degrees for 24 minutes {that is exactly how long mine were in and I didn’t check them once and they came out perfectly. I do use a convection oven, though, just FYI}

300_0556 300_0564

300_0579

For glaze

  • While those are in the oven, get out a mixer {I know, unfortunately this would be hard to successfully mix with only your hands}
  • Put cream, confectioners sugar, and melted butter in and whisk them fast until well-mixed and a bit more firm than liquid
  • Add mint extract and mix for a couple minutes more, or until it is a nice liquid-ey, glaze-consistency {and yes, this means taste-testing is necessary… you are welcome:)}

For finalization

  • Once cupcakes have cooled for about 10 minutes on a rack, use a mellon-baller {definitely the technical term for it} to scoop out a little bit of the insides of each cake

If you save all the scooped-out parts, you can use the leftover glaze and make yourself a little cake so as to get a taste of your masterpiece while not diminishing the yield of your final product and limiting food waste.

  • Once all are carved, take a larger than average spoon and use it to scoop up some glaze and fill each hole until it just barely lets some flow over the top of the cake

I found that after filling all the glaze in the first ones I filled had settled in a bit and the hole was no longer completely full. So, once you fill all of them, go back and add a little more to each.

  • Top off each cupcake with a Hersey kiss!

DSC_0106 DSC_0107 DSC_0109 DSC_0105 DSC_0110 DSC_0113

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did and stay tuned for a recipe for real food in a couple days. As much as I love sweet things, variety is a wonderful thing, especially with food, am I right?

Just so you know, beginning this Sunday, I am going to try and post each week with a new recipe and photos, so get psyched and thank you for taking the time to read and share this passion of mine.

~bliss, confidence, creativity~

kyssar för alla

Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr-2)

Leave a Reply

