Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr)

I realized today that I haven’t yet put my original Tumblr posts on here. I started out on Tumblr and have upgraded since then, but I thought it would be fun to share those here, so here they are!

This was my first post:


Hello Dear Foodie!

I am so glad to have your company! I am a seventeen-year-old who LOVES cooking and loves sharing my loves. Hence… FOOD BLOG for the world to see! (or, maybe, just you, in which case you are wonderful) So, my thought is that this will be a place where I can post my favorite recipes, with my tips, along with my own recipes. I am also really interested in food in a broader sense, so I will probably post information about buying local, what that means and why it is worth knowing something about, as well as sustainable farming and maybe even some nutrition tips! {I promise I won’t write anything I don’t think is interesting or informative} And, who knows? Someday I may get tired of writing about food and write about something else!

But, for now I am ecstatic to share my love of food with you and I hope you enjoy.

To start, I thought we would kick things off with one of my favorite discoveries of the summer: BANANA SOFT SERVE ICE CREAM. If you are not already sold, bear with me and try it. Wow, it is incredible. And, for your convenience and enjoyment, this is the most ingredient-simple recipe, making it all the more delicious.

Without further delay:

300_0539

300_0541

300_0543

300_0545

BANANA SOFT SERVE ICE CREAM

Yield: approximately 2-3 cups of ice cream

Ingredients:

  • 3 bananas

Optional Add-Ins and Toppings:

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter or almond butter or cashew butter or dragon butter (honestly I would not be surprised at this point)
  • 1 cup dried fruit
  • 1 cup fresh fruit
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Place bananas in the freezer overnight, chopped at least in half, if not more

The more they are chopped, the less time they take in the blender, but even if they are simply halved, it still works fine.

  • Blend frozen bananas in a blender until they form a smooth, soft serve texture

This sounds super easy, but you will find that, at least with my blender, there comes a time when all the banana near the blades is perfectly smooth, however there are still frozen chunks of banana on the top. I simply use a spoon or something similar to mix the chunks down near the blades so they get mixed in as well. I usually have to mix, blend, mix, blend, mix, blend for about a minute or two until it is thoroughly mixed. It is a bit of a pain, but it works, I promise! 

To make it a bit easier, I have found that you can add the vanilla or almond extract, which will make it a bit more watery and blend easier, however it is doable with just the bananas.

Toppings:

  • Butters: You can do several things with these: One, put some straight in to the blender and have that be the flavor of your ice cream. (I normally just add a dollop on top of my serving as a topping, so I don’t have to commit to the whole batch being flavored the same way.) Two, you can put whichever type you are using in a pot on the stove and heat it up until it is liquid-ey (maybe add some coconut and/or sunflower oil and honey) and create a little butter sauce in place of a chocolate sauce!
  • Chocolate Chips and/or Dried Fruit and Fresh Fruit: These are all simply wonderful to sprinkle on top.
  • Try mixing and matching and come up with some new ideas as well! Cooking = experimentation (which means a lot of first tries won’t work, but if you keep with it, you will create a masterpiece. Have confidence and go for it until you are satisfied!)

I hope you enjoy and take advantage of the magical powers of bananas-their ability to become this wonderful dessert, while they are also pretty awesome at being snacks and sides for a lunch. Props to you, bananas.

Anyway, thank you so much for reading and I hope you continue to do so!

P.S. I would like to give credit to the source where I originally found this idea: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GEkvjhpOZ0A

~love, health, bliss~

美味

Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr)

Leave a Reply

