Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr-3)

Bon apetit!


PIZZA PIZZA

DSC_0103

Today was quite something! The beautiful, crispy autumn that I love finally seemed to arrive in earnest, and with it a run and the first of, hopefully many, hikes through the Outing Club I have started just this year at my school! Only two kids signed up, but it was the perfect size group for a hike—not too big, nor too small—and we all enjoyed the day, which  was the point, so it was perfect!

The ending was pretty great too—a pizza inspired loosely by this that turned out splendidly! I have found that my taste buds get bored very easily, therefore this pizza has a very different ‘crust’ than center, so I got almost two different pizzas in one!

First off, I apologize, because I was honestly quite tired when I decided I should motivate to cook dinner. So, when I happened upon a frozen ball of pizza dough from Stop & Shop, my tired self couldn’t resist. I justified it with the fact that if I had made my own dough, I would have had to start it anywhere from 2-24 hours ago and I just didn’t have that kind of time, unfortunately. So, I hope you are able to spend some more time and actually make a quality batch of dough, however store-bought does work as well. After scouring throughout the fridge (one of my favorite ways to create a meal) I plopped some things together and surprised myself with the result! So, here ya go!

PIZZA TO KEEP YOU ON YOUR TOES

Yield: 1 one-person pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a ball of dough (or 1 serving of homemade dough)
  • 1 egg
  • 5-6 prunes
  • 2 tablespoons crumbled bleu cheese
  • 5 square-inch slices of brie
  • spices and/or herbs of your choice

Directions:

  • Spread dough into desired shape and thickness (I like mine pretty thin)
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees for 12 minutes and place dough in when ready

DSC_0093

In the meantime:

  • Whisk egg in a bowl with a fork like you would to make an omelet
  • Cut prunes in half and fill each with bleu cheese
  • Cut up brie

DSC_0089

Once crust is done:

  • Place cheese-stuffed prunes around the edge of the crust
  • Place brie in the middle
  • Pour egg over the brie and try to get some to flow out and under the crust
  • Sprinkle desired spices and herbs on top (I used onion powder, thyme, garlic powder, and rosemary and it was wonderful)

I enjoyed having these additions on top of the egg rather than within it because I realized I taste and appreciate them more when they are on top, rather than smothered by the overpowering egg. Herbs and spices are often thrown in things to make them a bit more interesting, however having them on top of this dish really brings them into the spotlight.

Place in oven until egg is fully cooked and enjoy!

An easy way to tell whether it is done is if you take it out of the oven (I had it on parchment paper, so I just picked up the paper) and tilt it around. If you can see egg sliding around under the surface, it needs more time. When the whole egg doesn’t move anymore, then it is done. You really want to be sure it is cooked all the way through and won’t be runny with this recipe. Another way of preparing this same dish would be frying an egg and simply placing it on top of the pizza, however this way makes the egg seep in and under the crust.

DSC_0086 DSC_0089 DSC_0092 DSC_0108

The difference between the center and crust was probably the best part of this for me. The center had the taste of a savory entrée, however the prunes and bleu cheese add a nice sweet taste to finish off each slice. I hope you enjoy!

~love, respect, bliss~

परिवर्तन मात्र निरन्तर छ

Belly in Bliss (from Tumblr-3)

Leave a Reply

